Self Eval & Project 2 research

It was my first website build from scratch, so I’m proud of myself. Especially because I had a hard time making columns while I was working on the assignment four, I felt great when I made the simple two columns. Since I learned just basics, I kept the design quite simple and relied on the illustrations. Gif animations helped me to make the visual more fun and viewer friendly, and the icons and hexagon shapes helped unify the entire theme of bees. The color palettes were limited to black and four different yellows because yellow and black are generally a tricky convention. Changing yellow slightly different between the types of bee was a successful idea to visually identify the bees more, though I thought it’d be better if the font colors were different as well. Also, although I liked the border pattern in the homepage, I should either apply the border in other pages or use hexagon pattern in the homepage instead of border to make the whole website more cohesive. I enjoyed simple hover over on the links to change the font color, yet I’d like to challenge image hover over in the project two. Other than hover over, I’d like to challenge more dynamic layout design in the project two. I know I will have a hard time to build multiple columns again, but it’d be significant to learn more about powerful layout to attract more viewers.

Project two: I’d like to design a website for a local massage store. There are more massage places than i thought in Portland, yet only a few have organized websites. Although Urban Renewal Skin & Body in Parl district has 4.5 starts in Yelp, its website is not organized at all. I am going to redesign their website to make it more customer friendly and inviting. http://urbanrenewalpdx.squarespace.com/

image_1 image_2 image

Leave a comment